How to make irregualar shape object interact with other models?

May 16, 2010 at 7:27 AM
Edited May 16, 2010 at 7:31 AM

I want to make a physics simulation that a torus fall through a cylinder under gravity, but GoblinXNA.Physics.ShapeType only support some predefined shape (e.g. Box and Cylinder) and Compound, ConvexHull and TriangleMesh. If I use the simple shapes such as Box and Cylinder, the torus will not fall through because the physics engine doesn't recognize the hold in the torus. The same situation occurred when using ConvexHull. I cannot use Compound because I don't know how to set up the ShapeData. And when I try TriangleMesh, the torus just don't move!!

Another problem: If I design my own model using 3dsmax and export to fbx file, how can I set up the simulation so the dynamics is correct (corresponding to the model shape)?

I'm a beginner at GoblinXNA and don't know how to solve this problem, please show me how to do this if you have any ideas, thanks!!

Coordinator
May 16, 2010 at 11:43 AM

Unfortunately, the Newton doesn't have Torus primitive, and you need to create it with Compound type to do what you want to do. Torus is rather a complicated shape, so you probably need a list of cylinder shapes to represent it. TriangleMesh in Newton cannot be moved. 

For any models with complicated shape, if you want to have correct dynamic behavior, you need to model them using Compound shapes, and you probably need to write your own content pipeline to assign correct shapes based on the model. Other solution is to implement IPhysics class with another physics engine of your choice, and plug it in to use with Goblin XNA. Commercially available physics engine such as Havok may do this for you.

Currently, i'm busy with a paper deadline, so I won't have a time to provide a tutorial, but I'm planning to write a tutorial for Compound types later on.

Ohan

May 17, 2010 at 6:32 AM